28 comments on “Xootr vs. KickPed: Folding Scooter Throwdown

  1. Thanks for the post and review! I’m considering the two, but pretty certain I’m going with the KickPed based on what I’ve read from your review and some others… DC sidewalks and roads and not always in the greatest shape, and at 6’2″ I think the slightly taller handlebars would work better. Plus, I like low maintenance and safety – sounds like the KickPed offers both.

    • Honestly Mike, after a year of daily riding, the KickPed is still my favorite. I’m bigger on utility than aesthetics. The ease of folding, the shoulder hang and the shock absorption vastly outclass the Xootr, which I rode for several years and still needs its deck replaced; has to be sent to Pennsylvania at my expense.

  2. Pingback: KickPed vs. Xootr: Customer Service review « Art of Olive Green

  3. Just came across this. You can pick up a KnowPed online for about $150-180, while NYCEEwheels prices the Kickped at $239. There doesn’t seem to be *much* difference to me…? The KnowPed has a bigger deck (and looks a bit dorkier as a result) and has a front brake. Plus the KnowPed doesn’t seem to come in the gummetal color that the Kickped has. At that price the KnowPed is significantly cheaper than the Kickped or Xootr…..Any thoughts? Thanks so much on a great review.

    • Hey Dave, glad I can help. I’m not sure there is so much difference, just looking at the photos. The front brake, on the Xootr at least, is more trouble than it’s worth to replace or service, and the cable snags on things and gets frayed—no reason to believe the KnowPed is any different.

      The deck is a big variance, though: the KnowPed deck looks about the width of a Xootr MG deck, and believe me, the extra energy expended (and reduced propulsion generated) by keeping your leg at a 45 degree angle of impact to the ground adds up, especially on long trips. I’ve found with the narrower KickPed deck that I can use different kicking techniques for better acceleration or to work different muscle groups, but these are less efficient or too bothersome with a larger deck. It’s generally less tiring. The KickPed also uses a marine plywood deck, which resists snow, rain, corrosion, and grime better than the KnowPed deck. Mine has discolored and lost grip tape but is still structurally sound after 2 years of often-wet riding. Further, those scooped-out wells in the sides of the deck create a handy place to lock your ankles over the deck and hold it upright while standing. Then you can take your hands off the handlebars to look at your phone or throw bits at a car that nearly killed you.

      Finally, I don’t see anything about two different lengths of handlebar stem: 36” and 42” for the KnowPed. The KickPed comes with two so that your arms will always be in a comfortable position, whatever your height. I’m taller, so the 42” has given me more control and safety than other scooters.

      If I were you with a tool or two and the handlebar stem didn’t matter, I’d just get KnowPed and a spare KickPed deck. Bolt it into the mounts, use the KnowPed deck instead for a cheese tray.

      • Thanks Brechet – I never even considered the Marine plywood, or the 45 degree angle issue. It is amazing that these small changes would jack up the price so much (with the removal of parts – front brake)! The only reason I would see to go with NYCEE wheels would be b/c of their warranty and customer service, but from what I have read here, this leaves much to be desired! That is unfortunate to hear, since I love what they seem to be doing there, with folding bikes, scooters and their videos are especially entertaining. Also, I live in a fairly hilly area, where I could see a front and rear brake being helpful. Right now I would use this to “scooter” with my kids, since they love their scooters. I have also debated taking up “Trikking” as a sport, but not sure I could use a Trikke for transportation (or fun with my kids) – it seems more of a sport, especially good for warm-weather, flat and open areas. Right now I am only willing to spend on one thing, an Adult scooter OR a Trikke.

      • I loved NYCeWheels too, before that experience. In the main because they’re cultural ambassadors in a city where cycling is a death-defying (98 deaths since 2005, says http://www.ghostbikes.org) and often political act (consider the Williamsburg bike controversy or the “Bike War” resulting from Mayor Bloomberg’s bike-friendly policies). To be fair, NYCW deals with lots of noobs and tools, but even if they’d just given me the bearing in the first place rather than all that guff, I’d feel differently about them.

        Anyway the KickPed is a great product and NYCeWheels does a great service with their marketing and campaigns. FWIW a Trikke would probably get you sideswiped here with all the space it takes up carving. It looks like a fun workout, but not practical at all. I can’t imagine it working very well on your hills!

        Finally, the value of front brakes is overstated IMO. Braking too suddenly with one can make you tilt forward, they’re a pain to fix, and I’ve worn through two rear brake plates on the Xootr without getting through half of a front brake chunk (the Xootr uses consumable aluminum plates).

        Hope that helps! Good luck

  4. Any place I can “walk in” to get one of these in the East Bay area near San Francisco (Oakland)? I’d like to give it a test run before I buy – I have been thinking of a Xooter for a while now (I’m banned from bike riding due to lots of people I know having accidents lately) – I’m 66 in in great shape – race walker x 4 miles a day. I could commute on this if it had room for a little backpack.

    • Cambrian Go-Karts is in Campbell, CA, which I read is closest shop to SF. They don’t have the Xootr or the Kickped, but they have every other model of Go-Ped, which will give you the basic idea, then you can order the Kickped either to the store or directly from someone online. Note that the Kickped’s board is much narrower though, and made of marine plywood, so the economy of kicking energy is better (not having to arc your leg around a wider board) and it’s very weather-resistant (I regularly ride mine through monsoon-weight deluges).

      I’m glad to hear another fit older person is considering joining the kickscooter ranks. A Twitter acquaintance just bought a Kickped herself, I suspect she’s at least in her 40s or maybe 50s (never asked, and her pic is very small of course). I’m always happy to see someone other than a celebrity or a 20-something kicking it.

      • thanks – I would go with the KickPed – economy is better – have you used it with a backpack on the front – just curious – I can put a pack onto my back just fine. Not worried about the rain – if it’s that wet, I will find another way to get to work. Not a lot of rain around here to worry about. I have a bike but there have been so many car-bike mishaps, I think I will pass and keep the bike for a bike path.

      • I haven’t used it with a front pack, though I have hung shopping bags with something light like takeout or a couple bagels from the handlebars. I always carry a messenger bag and it’s way too heavy for the bars. I’m very concerned about perfect steering control because cyclists here often have an <inch of tolerance between a speeding rearview mirror and a blind idiot trying to hail a cab. Even my headphones have caught on a parked rearview and been whipped off from around my neck.

        I dunno about SF, but we have lots of bike lanes in NYC…which were paid for with the whole blood of over 100 cyclists. I take every opportunity to remind people of that.

  5. Pingback: Swifty scooter deview | Art of Olive Green

  6. I’m wondering how far you commute with the kickped?? I have a ~ 4 mile commute. I know most people use bikes for that kind of distance, but I’ve not had good luck with bikes for a long time, therefore considering the kickped, especially as I already have an hour long commute by public transit.

    • Hi Robert. My commute is really only a 15 minute ride daily, but I use the KickPed to run errands the length & width of Manhattan. I have clocked (using those scanners with “Your Speed Is” signs) the KickPed at 13 mph full bore. The longest trip I’ve taken it on is when my local commuter train was offline and I had to hoof it 6 miles from the municipal trainline’s end to my house. It took about a half hour and was a bit of a workout, but it would have been sucky & sweaty had I been carrying anything. If the route is flat and you’re reasonably fit (the KickPed is most of my exercise), 4 miles should be cake.

  7. A new …Update That has just been announced to avoid the issue mentioned in the one negative review
    Improved KickPed folds sideways! Neat.

    by Peter

    How do you make your most popular product even better? It’s usually by tweaking something so obvious and basic that you normally wouldn’t think of it. That’s just what happened with our well know and loved KickPed scooter. We’ve turned the handlebar hinge 90 degrees and that, believe it or not, makes a world of difference!

    Up until a few weeks ago our KickPeds had been shipping with the handlebar off the scooter which required assembly. This was to save our customers shipping expenses and keep the box smaller. But it was just plain annoying to have to install that handlebar. Everyone loves the “out of the box ready to go” idea and so we got to thinking how to tackle this problem.

    The solution came to Bert out of the blue and I was a little resistant at first. How could such a small change make such a big difference? And yet it does.

    It’s folds up flatter than ever, making travel and storage easier than ever. Just rotate the handlebar 90 degrees prior to folding it – simple! Order your KickPed today and get this improved design of the best adult kick scooter ever.

    My remaining question is …is their a problem with the brake joint and if so..does this new modification fix that issue (if an issue only reported once does actually exist). ?

    • This is a wonderful forum filled with much wisdom and care.

      I would add the Venus Xooter to the short list of excellent options. Its narrow sculpted board makes a significant difference in kicking efficiency. While it is more expensive than both of the alternatives discussed here, it might be the best choice for some. Surely worth the time to try out all three before making a subjective informed decision. What is best for one person, may not be the best choice for someone else.

      • Thanks, Jim. I’m glad it continues to provide a resource for so many scooter seekers the world over.

        The Venus is dashing, and I’m sure you’re right about the kicking efficiency. But I suspect it suffers from the same 2 Xootr design flaws that I will explain further in a future post. I have mentioned them in one of these comment sections but will reprise them here.

        The clamp that raises and lowers the handlebar, and the chrome-plated stem of the handlebar, are bound to corrode at some point from environmental moisture and continual jarring road impact. When they do, they become unreliable for steering because the whole assembly may lose its grip suddenly and turn up to 3 degrees. This has nearly felled me several times, and on a crowded road that could spell instant death. KickPed’s elegant solution of a one-piece handlebar avoids this hazard.

        The Xootr MG’s deck is a cast magnesium alloy. Don’t believe anything about it being machined (I seem to remember such claims but I may be confusing it with the late, electric ex3). Road vibration contact with the locking springbolt eventually erodes the softer metal of the deck so that the 2-part (bolt in one hole that swings, locking springbolt in the second that secures when Xootr is unfolded) joint becomes unstable. Road corrosion on this joint is beastly; at an inch or so off the ground, it fills with salt and sand in colder climes and these chew out the joint tolerances about once a year, whereupon Xootr has to replace the whole deck.

        ONLY IF Xootr has actually made the Venus with a machined or reinforced deck (joint) is this problem corrected, and without examining a Venus up close or hearing from Xootr, we don’t know. Even in that case, the fatal handlebar stem problem is a dealbreaker for me.

        KickPed had a major flaw that caused mine to break in half in traffic, throwing me…but they fixed it in subsequent editions. Xootr’s dangerous glitches seem to persist.

    • This is a neat idea, but I hope it leaves as much room between folded handlebars and deck to comfortably carry the scooter, even if you are a bulky person or wearing heavy winter clothes. My KickPed, the earliest model, is not even secured by a bolt at the handlebar fold joint, but by a thick piece of plastic pipe that must be wedged in and tapped out with a hammer and punch.

      As for the brake joint, it’s always been good to me, and has only needed tightening once. If it loosens it does drag on the tire. I’ve always thought something spring-actuated at the joint could lessen wear on the deck body and vibration on the securing bolts.

      • Dear Brechett,
        You raise some important concerns about the Xooter. I think it only fair that you e-mail your concerns directly to the appropriate department at Xooter allowing them to respond with a follow up posting here .
        That would be most helpful and fair to all concerned.
        Jim

      • You are right, Brad/Jim (Brim?). I hold Xootr and their products in the highest estimation. They have always provided warranty service and honest appraisals punctually, though of course freight charges are a pain. I want to see them continue as a player in the folding scooter market.

        Time permitting, I will address my concerns to the fitting department. GoPed and Xootr, and subsidiaries/projects, have made this market, and as a sworn enemy of authoritarian aggregation I don’t want to see commerce dominated by one or the other. At least two are necessary to keep innovation and progress afoot.

      • Thank you for your response and follow up Brechett.

        Hopefully Xootr will respond promptly and with clarity as befits a company such as Xootr with a reputation for honesty and excellent customer service.

        As for my name, this is the second time that the wrong name was posted at the top. I am Jim. I apologize for the confusion, but I still do not know how it happened.
        Jim

      • From xootr website:The deck of the Venus is CNC machined from a solid block of 6061 aluminum

Leave a Reply

